- Iowa law provides that marriage is a civil contract between two persons who are:
- 18 years of age or older.
- Not already married to each other or still legally married to someone else.
- Not closely related by blood or first cousins.
- Legally competent to enter into a civil contract.
- Minors- Persons aged 16 & 17 may marry only with special permission from a judge and should request a “Consent to Marriage of a Minor” form when applying for a marriage license and present it to a judge within the county’s judicial district. Persons 15 years old and under may not marry in Iowa.
- Applicants are NOT required to be U. S. Citizens.
The Buena Vista County Recorder’s Office is able to notarize marriage applications as long as the identification presented is issued by the United States, foreign identification will not be accepted by this office but can be notarized elsewhere.
It is the responsibility of applicants to read and fill out the application carefully to secure correct information on certified marriage certificate.
Once the County Registrar receives the completed Application to Marry in Iowa, either of the parties to the application may pick up the license any time after three days. If the license is not picked up within six months from the date of application, the application is considered null and void.
|Application Received On:||License Ready to Issue:|
The fee due upon handing in completed marriage application is $35.00 and includes a certified copy of the certificate of marriage which is issued after the ceremony. The fee is NOT refundable if the marriage does not occur.
Holidays may alter the above schedule. If the parties wish to waive the 3-day waiting period, they may request a waiver application form from the County Registrar. There is a $5.00 fee payable to the County Registrar to waive the waiting period. The parties are responsible for locating a judge within the judicial district of the county in which they are filing the marriage license to grant the waiver.
Do we need a blood test to get married?
Do we need to bring our birth certificates?
Who is legally able to perform a marriage ceremony in the state of Iowa?
– You are authorized to perform marriage ceremonies (solemnize) in
Iowa if you are (595.10)
- An Iowa judge, magistrate, or associate judge serving on the supreme
court, court of appeals, or district court; or
- An individual ordained or designated as a leader of a religious faith,
regardless of the state of residence or service. The fees and availability for each Judge may vary. For more Officiant Information click here.
My fiancé is not living in Iowa. How can we complete the application process?
– The application can be mailed to your fiancé and notarized locally. The waiting period of 3 business days begins once the application is complete and received in our office with the appropriate fee. Please include a daytime phone number with the return of your application and fee.
Can we change our names?
– Yes, in fact, a marriage provides the opportunity to legally change your name. Because of this, it is important to complete the application correctly and in full. Do not use initials or nick names unless you wish them to become your legal name.
What is the legal waiting period for remarrying after a divorce?
– None. A marriage can take place at any time once a divorce is final. However, you may not apply for the marriage license until the divorce is final.